Skip to Main Content
E-Resource Portal

IAU Library Basics: Getting Started

The Library Basics LibGuide will give you a broad idea about Library resources, services, and facilities. 

You will get answers to most basic library questions here. Just get in touch if you need further guidance.

LIBRARY UPDATE New to the University? Explore the Library Orientation to learn more about IAU Libraries.   :::    Library requires all library visitors to fill the library visitor form upon entering the library to better understand your learning requirements. .   :::    New Trial Database: Reaxys

Library Contact and Timings

Library Email: library@iau.edu.sa
Reception: +966 13 333 2831

Central Library A3 Timings
Sun-Thu:
08:00 am to 08:00 pm

Summer Vacation

Sun-Thu

08:00 am to 02:45 pm

Friday Saturday: closed

User Services Manager

Profile Photo
Mouawia Hassan Mohamed Saeed
Contact:
Access and User Services Unit , Office No. 202,
Central Library, building A3, Directorate of Library Affaire
0503974813

Feedback

Did you find what you were looking for?
Yes: 4 votes (100%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 4

Library Orientation

An accessible version of this content can be seen in the Browser

Search and Discover

 

Easily discover the world of library content

 

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Database List

 

Search print materials from IAU libraries

To browse the list of newly added print titles visit our New Arrival Page

 

Search e-journals or e-books with title or ISBN or Browse by MeSH

 

 

 

Find articles with DOI/PMID through LibKey discovery

 

 

 

Search patents from all of the world including subscribed and other resources

 

 

New Arrivals

New Databases

Al-Manhal المنهل

المنهل هي المزوّد الوحيد عالمياً لقواعد بيانات المنشورات العلمية

American Institute of Physics (AIP)

About 600,000 articles in science and engineering.

MathSciNet Mathematical Reviews, AMS

Scholarly literature of mathematics.

ASCE Library

World's largest full-text database of civil engineering

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

PICO Model

Defining a clinical question in terms of the specific patient problem aids the searcher in finding clinically relevant evidence in the literature.  The PICO Model is a format to help define your question.You may be asked to use this approach for clinical queries.

Find out more on the PICO LibGuide.

MeSH terms

For some of the databases you search you may need to understand what MeSH terms are. This guide provides an introduction to medicine subject headings and how they are used in medical databases.

If you would like to search smarter, try this health literature search strategy builder.

It's takes you through the process step by step and is a good place to start if you are new to searching or need a refresher!

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone.   

Academic Skills: Skills for Referencing online support

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Academic Skills Support

I'm looking for...

Library has access to a wide variety of journals; you may visit the following link to see all available journals.

There are a range of clinical skills videos and online learning material available to you. These can be accessed here. You will need to login in using your Exeter IT username and password to access these resources.

There are also free online training materials such as Practical Clinical Skills. This offers Simulation-based lessons cover heart sounds, murmurs, lung sounds, carotid bruit, blood pressure measurement and EKG training.

 If you are looking for public health policies or guidelines don't forget to visit the Department of Health or NICE websites.

 If you are looking for health statistics take a look at the guide to UK Health and Health care statistics.

For general guidance on finding statistics use the Statistics LibGuide.

 

The UN Global Issues Website offers in depth analysis of a variety of topics including ageing and health issues.

 

During your studies you may need to find, use or run Systematic Reviews or search for grey literature. Use the LibGuides to find out more.

 

If you need to undertake a systematic review use Cochrane Interactive Learning to develop the critical skills required.

I'm looking for resources on...

UpToDate is the most trusted evidence-based clinical decision support resource at the point of care More than 100 studies concur: patients receive better care when clinicians use UpToDate. Healthcare professionals around the world turn to UpToDate to answer even the most complex questions.

  • Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

The ability to critical appraise the resources you use as part of your studies ia a key skill for health professionals.

Find out more on the Critical Appraisal LibGuide.

Reflective practice is increasingly being considered as a critical dimension of professional development for health professionals.

Find out more on the Reflective Practice for Health Professionals LibGuide.