Skip to Main Content
E-Resource Portal

Institute for Research and Medical Consultations (IRMC): Home

 Welcome to the Institute for Research and Medical Consultations LibGuide

This page brings together key resources and information for the Institute for Research and Medical Consultations (IRMC). This subject guide is helpful for faculty, research scholars, and students. You can use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the Institute for Research and Medical Consultations (IRMC) resources and services.

Library Update

LIBRARY UPDATE New to the University? Explore the Library Orientation to learn more about IAU Libraries.   :::    Library requires all library visitors to fill the library visitor form upon entering the library to better understand your learning requirements. .   :::    New Trial Database: Reaxys

Library Contact and Timings

Library Email: library@iau.edu.sa
Reception: +966 13 333 2831

Central Library A3 Timings

Sun-Thu: 8:00 am to 8:00 pm

Sat: 10:00 am to 3:00 pm

Liaison Librarian for IRMC

Profile Photo
Dr. Shakil Ahmad
Contact:
Technical Section Unit, Room 119
Directorate of Library Affairs,
Central Library, Building A3,
East Campus, Imam Abdulrahman bin Faisal University, Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Office Extension: 013 3332816

Feedback

Did you find what you were looking for?
Yes: 1 votes (100%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 1

Search and Discover

 

Easily discover the world of library content

 

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Database List

 

Search print materials from IAU libraries

To browse the list of newly added print titles visit our New Arrival Page

 

Search e-journals or e-books with title or ISBN or Browse by MeSH

 

 

 

Find articles with DOI/PMID through LibKey discovery

 

 

 

Search patents from all of the world including subscribed and other resources

 

 

New Medicine Resources

Expand your searching

There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your  study and research.  Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.

Explore the how to find resources guide as a starting point.

Databases are tools for finding guidelines, journal articles, professional literature and book chapters for pharmacological research. You can find them listed on the Key Databases page in this guide.

 

A great feature of TRIP is the option to search using the PICO framework. Watch this video for a demonstration.

Effective Searching & Referencing

If you have a specific journal article reference and you would like to see if it available electronically through the library:

  1. Summon Search will be used to track down articles. remember to choose full-text and Content Type article from the filter options.
  2. we would recommend to type author surname and the title or few keywords from the article title to get to the exact article.

Searching with Reference:

  1. If you cannot find what you are looking for, try searching for the journal you need.
  2. You may use the reference to track down the article, a sample of the article reference is given below.
  3. To start: search the journal title in Summon,(make sure you selected journal/ejournal option from the Content Type Filter)
  4. Now click the journal link from the search results.
  5. you may use year, volume and issue in which this article is published to reach the desired article.
  6. Once you are in the required volume and issue, navigate to the page number of your desired article.

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

Finding evidence for clinical practice

PICO Model

Defining a clinical question in terms of the specific patient problem aids the searcher in finding clinically relevant evidence in the literature.  The PICO Model is a format to help define your question.You may be asked to use this approach for clinical queries.

Find out more on the PICO search in the following video tutorial


MeSH terms

For some of the databases you search you may need to understand what MeSH terms are. This following video provides an introduction to medicine subject headings and how they are used to build a better query.


If you would like to search smarter, try this health literature, try the following video.

It's takes you through the process step by step and is a good place to start if you are new to searching or need a refresher!

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

  • Library's Referencing LibGuide: (coming soon) includes guidance on referencing styles and referencing software

I'm looking for scholarly resources on...

  • Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

The ability to critical appraise the resources you use as part of your studies ia a key skill for health professionals.

Find out more on the Critical Appraisal LibGuide.

Reflective practice is increasingly being considered as a critical dimension of professional development for health professionals.

Find out more on the Reflective Practice for Health Professionals LibGuide.

Medical Search Engines
Professional Bodies